Granted I am a bit late in this posting, as everyone who will read this, if there are in fact any readers, will probably already have heard it all. But the weekend was hectic, as they always tend to be, so here it is anyway.
On Friday, we attended the VHE picnic. Good times were had by all, I'm sure. Logan got to hang out with lots of other homeschool kids on the playground, there was a ridiculous amount of good food, and we got to talk with other homeschool parents. The lady who happened to occupy most of my time was super nice and full of information. But man, she was a fast talker. She crammed at least 2 hours worth of conversation into 45 minutes, and I said very little. It was kind of nice as I rarely am able to converse with people I don't know, so I could just sit and listen.
But to be honest, the most memorable thing that happened was that Maggie got hurt. I insisted that she wear shoes to the picnic, despite the fact that she really hasn't started wearing shoes yet. I knew she'd want to play on the playground and didn't want her to step on anything. But in a fluke accident - like when a person gets more hurt by their seatbelt than they would by their car wreck - her shoes are what caused her injury. In going down the slide, the rubber on her shoe soles caught against the plastic and twisted her tiny ankle. She was in misery the rest of the evening and cried all night long. The next morning, we took her to the doctor, who sent us to radiology for some x-rays. We always expected that Logan would be the first of our children to require x-rays, but little Maggie managed to achieve that title. Luckily, nothing was broken, so we just have to try to keep her off it for a few days, and give her Motrin for discomfort. She should be back up and running by the end of the week.
After our hospital visit, we headed out to some yard sales, which is completely the highlight of my week. After walking around to many yards without finding much junk we're interested in, I came across one that had cape dresses. So I promptly purchased one! If you don't know what that is, think "old order Mennonite", although they aren't the only ones to dress like that. Why the heck would I want such a thing?? Well, when you travel in the circle that I travel in, it becomes necessary to fit in sometimes. Going to an old-order Mennonite store in jeans and a French Quarter New Orleans tee shirt is just plain uncomfortable, head covering or no. So now I can fit in. That is, as long as they don't pay close enough attention to notice the tattoos and nose ring.
Yesterday - that's Sunday - we went to church as usual, then headed out to the mall. I met the new manager at Journeys... ugh... She automatically rubbed me the wrong way by taking my aluminum "Go Green" (yes, that phrase was printed on it) water bottle and throwing it away! Apparently there was just so much trash in the back room, that she couldn't tell what was junk and what wasn't. Hmmm.... it seems to me that, while that might be true in some cases, an aluminum water bottle would obviously fall into the "not trash" category. Additionally she is trying to come in and force everyone to do everything "by the book." Not necessarily a bad thing, as that's pretty much how I ran the store when I was manager. But doing with an iron fist is not going to win you any points with your employees. I don't imagine that many of the part timers will last long under her rule, and I honestly don't imagine that she'll last long under her rule either. Whatev... not my problem...
Last night, we headed back to church to listen to a good friend's testimony. It was amazing and moving, and a was a great way to end our day. Unfortunately, the child-care provider that we'd lined up failed to show, so my wonderful husband ended up taking care of 5 children instead of sitting in the sanctuary. But the sound system was working well and he was able to hear it all, so it all worked out, praise God!
At the end of our very long weekend, we came home, put the kids in bed, and decided to watch a movie. We very rarely watch movies, so I'm ashamed to say that, while we've owned it for quite a while, this was the first time we'd seen Juno! It was amazing and is now one of my favorite movies!! I'm in love. Interestingly, I'd heard several people say after the movie came out, that the main character, Juno, reminded them of me. I suppose I can see their point, but I'm not nearly so bold as she is. Maybe if I'd been given a name like Juno, instead of one that 45 other people in my graduating class had, I'd be a little more bold too.
You should've gone to China, you know, 'cause I hear they give away babies like free iPods. You know, they pretty much just put them in those t-shirt guns and shoot them out at sporting events. ~Juno MacGuff
No comments:
Post a Comment