Friday, September 24, 2010

In which I determine the most useful thing I learned in public school

More old news!

Last week I took Logan to homeschool day at Funky's (formerly, and always in my heart, Skatetown USA). I had so much fun skating! I always forget just how much I love it. It kind of made me want to go skating regularly as a form of workout, as that's really the only workout that I can remotely imagine finding enjoyment in. I wonder if they still have Christian skate night...

But Logan is not a very adept skater. He is very young, so I don't fault him for it at all, but it's kind of frustrating for both of us. I want to just be able to skate like I'm 14 again, and he wants me to help him learn. Well, it's pretty obvious what I have to do in that situation, but I can't tell you how much I wanted to just let him sit in the snack area while I skated! It is hard to teach a child to skate! It got me wondering how I really learned and I remembered that when I was in middle school, we had a roller skating unit in PE! The workers from Skatetown brought skates and taught us to skate. Granted, we all already knew how to get by, but they taught us how to do it better and how to do tricks and stuff! Very useful stuff! Wish I could remember how they taught it so I could do the same for Logan.

They do have these weird little corner shaped things - kind of like an old-people walker with wheels - that kids can skate behind. (Unfortunately I couldn't find a picture). But those things are super frustrating for us! Logan wants to lean all his weight on it and then just run behind it in his skates! But his feet are too heavy with the skates on, so he gets tangled and face-plants anyway. I don't know if it's better or worse to have the skate-walker, and neither does he. He went back and forth on the issue quite a lot.

The absolute worst thing about homeschool skate day, though, was the absolutely atrocious music they played! It was literally the same two songs on repeat for two hours. And they weren't even decent songs! It was some kind of Charlotte Church-y opera gospel stuff. How are you supposed to skate to that? I mean, throw me a bone here! When I used to go to Christian skate night they played DC Talk and Petra. There is so much more good music out there now! Why the opera junk? Sacre bleu and triple merde!

In other news, I now have another blog. Yeah, I know... why I second blog when I do a terrible job of keeping up with this one? Well... the other one's actually about something. I really just started posting here, to get some practice to do what I'm really supposed to be doing. I can't say the other one's any good, but I'm trying at any rate.

Also I broke a tooth! And I know I'm going to catch a lot of heck for this, but I will be honest about it, as I have been told that it is the best policy. I broke my tooth because of my tongue ring. The worst of it is that I have always been super careful not to mess with my tongue ring. I have a super short barbel in so that I can't play with it even if I'm tempted to. I used to hang out with the guys at Alley Cat all the time, and it the opinion that I never play with the tongue ring was forced upon me, and the habit stuck. I just like having it. But I was eating dinner last night, and happened to bite down wrong and broke a huge bit off of one of my teeth. It's terribly irritating because it's jagged now and sensitive to cold. And also I have no insurance and my sweet husband needs two root canals, so any money we're able to save for dental bills will be attributed to his. So it looks like I'll be living with my tongue-ring inflicted battle wound for a while.

Also, despite his looks, Logan is proving to be totally my boy! He started taking his showers in the mornings, so now I have to take mine at night. Logan literally uses up all the hot water. I could take mine before him, but I like to use all the hot water! So we have to break them up some so that there is hot water for all. He also has taken to falling asleep with a book either on top of or underneath of his head, now that he's able to read some. I love it! I did have to tape the one of the pages of The Stinky Cheese Man back in the book, because somehow his head ripped the page out, but I still love it! And interestingly, my little mini-me, Maggie, is, so far, exhibiting way more personality traits of Eric's. Crazy kids...

And as a side note, I've started listening to sermons in the evenings (not just while cleaning house) and have been taking a massive amount of notes. I will probably post the more interesting ones somewhere, just because, well, what good are notes if you do nothing with them? (To be honest, I just like taking notes for the sake of taking them, actually, but it would probably be better to use them.) Just need to determine whether they'd fit better here or on the other blog.... Hmmm....


All I know is that skating is getting better, the guys are getting better throughout the whole age range. ~Elvis Stojko

No comments: